Germany vs Romania: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant
Germany
5,420 millions
in 2022
Romania
3,016 millions
in 2022
Germany rank
4th
Romania rank
7th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant over time
- Germany
- Romania
How they compare
Germany currently reports 5,420 millions against 3,016 millions in Romania, a difference of 2,404 millions.
That makes Germany's figure about 1.8 times Romania's.
Across all 15 years both countries report, Germany has been ahead every year.
Germany ranks 4th and Romania ranks 7th of 147 countries.
Germany has averaged higher in every one of the 4 decades both report.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Germany | Romania | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 9,468 millions | 1,702 millions | 7,766 millions | Germany |
| 2000s | 4,994 millions | 1,931 millions | 3,063 millions | Germany |
| 2010s | 4,275 millions | 2,508 millions | 1,767 millions | Germany |
| 2020s | 5,161 millions | 3,059 millions | 2,102 millions | Germany |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant, Germany or Romania?
- Germany, at 5,420 millions against 3,016 millions in Romania as of 2022.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant between Germany and Romania?
- 2,404 millions, with Germany ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Germany and Romania?
- 15 years are reported by both, from 1996 to 2022.
- How do Germany and Romania rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant?
- Germany ranks 4th and Romania ranks 7th of 147 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant PPP$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release