Ghana vs South Africa: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant
Ghana
382.42 millions
in 2014
South Africa
470.8 millions
in 2024
Ghana rank
21st
South Africa rank
19th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant over time
- Ghana
- South Africa
How they compare
South Africa currently reports 470.8 millions against 382.42 millions in Ghana, a difference of 88.38 millions.
That makes South Africa's figure about 1.2 times Ghana's.
The two have swapped places 1 time across 14 shared years of data; in 1987 it was Ghana ahead.
Ghana ranks 21st and South Africa ranks 19th of 154 countries.
Across the 3 decades both report, Ghana averaged higher in 1 and South Africa in 2.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Ghana | South Africa | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1980s | 105.45 millions | 0 millions | 105.45 millions | Ghana |
| 2000s | 0.2325 millions | 1,321 millions | 1,321 millions | South Africa |
| 2010s | 215.8 millions | 2,538 millions | 2,322 millions | South Africa |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant, Ghana or South Africa?
- South Africa, at 470.8 millions against 382.42 millions in Ghana as of 2024.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant between Ghana and South Africa?
- 88.38 millions, with South Africa ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Ghana and South Africa?
- 14 years are reported by both, from 1987 to 2014.
- How do Ghana and South Africa rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant?
- Ghana ranks 21st and South Africa ranks 19th of 154 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant US$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release