India vs Portugal: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant
India
94.45 millions
in 2021
Portugal
57.66 millions
in 2022
India rank
36th
Portugal rank
39th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant over time
- India
- Portugal
How they compare
India currently reports 94.45 millions against 57.66 millions in Portugal, a difference of 36.79 millions.
That makes India's figure about 1.6 times Portugal's.
The two have swapped places 2 times across 15 shared years of data; in 1999 it was India ahead.
India ranks 36th and Portugal ranks 39th of 154 countries.
Across the 4 decades both report, India averaged higher in 2 and Portugal in 2.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | India | Portugal | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 4,453 millions | 369.65 millions | 4,084 millions | India |
| 2000s | 0 millions | 416.27 millions | 416.27 millions | Portugal |
| 2010s | 12.11 millions | 211.34 millions | 199.22 millions | Portugal |
| 2020s | 86.39 millions | 53.51 millions | 32.88 millions | India |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant, India or Portugal?
- India, at 94.45 millions against 57.66 millions in Portugal as of 2021.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant between India and Portugal?
- 36.79 millions, with India ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for India and Portugal?
- 15 years are reported by both, from 1999 to 2021.
- How do India and Portugal rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant?
- India ranks 36th and Portugal ranks 39th of 154 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, constant US$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release