Belgium vs Switzerland: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$
Belgium
764.08 millions
in 2022
Switzerland
762 millions
in 2022
Belgium rank
19th
Switzerland rank
20th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ over time
- Belgium
- Switzerland
How they compare
Belgium currently reports 764.08 millions against 762 millions in Switzerland, a difference of 2.08 millions.
The two have swapped places 2 times across 20 shared years of data; in 1993 it was Belgium ahead.
Belgium ranks 19th and Switzerland ranks 20th of 149 countries.
Belgium has averaged higher in every one of the 4 decades both report.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Belgium | Switzerland | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 521.27 millions | 198.9 millions | 322.38 millions | Belgium |
| 2000s | 554.22 millions | 334.34 millions | 219.88 millions | Belgium |
| 2010s | 650.14 millions | 455.31 millions | 194.83 millions | Belgium |
| 2020s | 693.81 millions | 679.19 millions | 14.62 millions | Belgium |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$, Belgium or Switzerland?
- Belgium, at 764.08 millions against 762 millions in Switzerland as of 2022.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ between Belgium and Switzerland?
- 2.08 millions, with Belgium ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Belgium and Switzerland?
- 20 years are reported by both, from 1993 to 2022.
- How do Belgium and Switzerland rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
- Belgium ranks 19th and Switzerland ranks 20th of 149 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release