Costa Rica vs India: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$
Costa Rica
212.92 millions
in 2023
India
325.57 millions
in 2021
Costa Rica rank
31st
India rank
29th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ over time
- Costa Rica
- India
How they compare
India currently reports 325.57 millions against 212.92 millions in Costa Rica, a difference of 112.65 millions.
That makes India's figure about 1.5 times Costa Rica's.
The two have swapped places 5 times across 14 shared years of data; in 1999 it was India ahead.
Costa Rica ranks 31st and India ranks 29th of 149 countries.
Across the 4 decades both report, Costa Rica averaged higher in 3 and India in 1.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Costa Rica | India | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 0 millions | 10,605 millions | 10,605 millions | India |
| 2000s | 24.66 millions | 0 millions | 24.66 millions | Costa Rica |
| 2010s | 219.98 millions | 34.31 millions | 185.66 millions | Costa Rica |
| 2020s | 496.75 millions | 292.09 millions | 204.66 millions | Costa Rica |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$, Costa Rica or India?
- India, at 325.57 millions against 212.92 millions in Costa Rica as of 2021.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ between Costa Rica and India?
- 112.65 millions, with India ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Costa Rica and India?
- 14 years are reported by both, from 1999 to 2021.
- How do Costa Rica and India rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
- Costa Rica ranks 31st and India ranks 29th of 149 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release