Hungary vs Kazakhstan: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$
Hungary
1,651 millions
in 2022
Kazakhstan
2,326 millions
in 2023
Hungary rank
11th
Kazakhstan rank
8th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ over time
- Hungary
- Kazakhstan
How they compare
Kazakhstan currently reports 2,326 millions against 1,651 millions in Hungary, a difference of 675 millions.
That makes Kazakhstan's figure about 1.4 times Hungary's.
The two have swapped places 8 times across 16 shared years of data; in 1995 it was Kazakhstan ahead.
Hungary ranks 11th and Kazakhstan ranks 8th of 149 countries.
Hungary has averaged higher in every one of the 3 decades both report.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Hungary | Kazakhstan | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 58.42 millions | 48.32 millions | 10.1 millions | Hungary |
| 2000s | 381.68 millions | 325.93 millions | 55.75 millions | Hungary |
| 2010s | 934.47 millions | 916.71 millions | 17.77 millions | Hungary |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$, Hungary or Kazakhstan?
- Kazakhstan, at 2,326 millions against 1,651 millions in Hungary as of 2023.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ between Hungary and Kazakhstan?
- 675 millions, with Kazakhstan ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Hungary and Kazakhstan?
- 16 years are reported by both, from 1995 to 2019.
- How do Hungary and Kazakhstan rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
- Hungary ranks 11th and Kazakhstan ranks 8th of 149 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release