Mauritius vs Portugal: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$
Mauritius
72.22 millions
in 2024
Portugal
94.95 millions
in 2022
Mauritius rank
41st
Portugal rank
39th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ over time
- Mauritius
- Portugal
How they compare
Portugal currently reports 94.95 millions against 72.22 millions in Mauritius, a difference of 22.73 millions.
That makes Portugal's figure about 1.3 times Mauritius's.
The two have swapped places 4 times across 20 shared years of data; in 2001 it was Portugal ahead.
Mauritius ranks 41st and Portugal ranks 39th of 149 countries.
Portugal has averaged higher in every one of the 3 decades both report.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Mauritius | Portugal | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000s | 51.96 millions | 382.02 millions | 330.06 millions | Portugal |
| 2010s | 56.51 millions | 261.08 millions | 204.57 millions | Portugal |
| 2020s | 64.32 millions | 84.89 millions | 20.57 millions | Portugal |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$, Mauritius or Portugal?
- Portugal, at 94.95 millions against 72.22 millions in Mauritius as of 2022.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ between Mauritius and Portugal?
- 22.73 millions, with Portugal ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Mauritius and Portugal?
- 20 years are reported by both, from 2001 to 2022.
- How do Mauritius and Portugal rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
- Mauritius ranks 41st and Portugal ranks 39th of 149 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release