Belgium vs Norway: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$
Belgium
569.74 millions
in 2022
Norway
520.07 millions
in 2022
Belgium rank
16th
Norway rank
17th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ over time
- Belgium
- Norway
How they compare
Belgium currently reports 569.74 millions against 520.07 millions in Norway, a difference of 49.67 millions.
That makes Belgium's figure about 1.1 times Norway's.
The two have swapped places 2 times across 20 shared years of data; in 1993 it was Belgium ahead.
Belgium ranks 16th and Norway ranks 17th of 157 countries.
Across the 4 decades both report, Belgium averaged higher in 1 and Norway in 3.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Belgium | Norway | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1990s | 594.8 millions | 1,002 millions | 406.74 millions | Norway |
| 2000s | 665.59 millions | 858.72 millions | 193.13 millions | Norway |
| 2010s | 639.05 millions | 954.54 millions | 315.49 millions | Norway |
| 2020s | 556.66 millions | 503.46 millions | 53.2 millions | Belgium |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$, Belgium or Norway?
- Belgium, at 569.74 millions against 520.07 millions in Norway as of 2022.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$ between Belgium and Norway?
- 49.67 millions, with Belgium ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Belgium and Norway?
- 20 years are reported by both, from 1993 to 2022.
- How do Belgium and Norway rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$?
- Belgium ranks 16th and Norway ranks 17th of 157 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release