Ghana vs South Africa: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$
Ghana
379.01 millions
in 2014
South Africa
437.4 millions
in 2024
Ghana rank
21st
South Africa rank
19th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ over time
- Ghana
- South Africa
How they compare
South Africa currently reports 437.4 millions against 379.01 millions in Ghana, a difference of 58.39 millions.
That makes South Africa's figure about 1.2 times Ghana's.
The two have swapped places 1 time across 14 shared years of data; in 1987 it was Ghana ahead.
Ghana ranks 21st and South Africa ranks 19th of 157 countries.
Across the 3 decades both report, Ghana averaged higher in 1 and South Africa in 2.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Ghana | South Africa | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1980s | 40.25 millions | 0 millions | 40.25 millions | Ghana |
| 2000s | 0.1387 millions | 1,169 millions | 1,169 millions | South Africa |
| 2010s | 214.99 millions | 2,896 millions | 2,681 millions | South Africa |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$, Ghana or South Africa?
- South Africa, at 437.4 millions against 379.01 millions in Ghana as of 2024.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$ between Ghana and South Africa?
- 58.39 millions, with South Africa ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Ghana and South Africa?
- 14 years are reported by both, from 1987 to 2014.
- How do Ghana and South Africa rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$?
- Ghana ranks 21st and South Africa ranks 19th of 157 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release