Mongolia vs South Africa: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$
Mongolia
239.43 millions
in 2024
South Africa
437.4 millions
in 2024
Mongolia rank
22nd
South Africa rank
19th
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ over time
- Mongolia
- South Africa
How they compare
South Africa currently reports 437.4 millions against 239.43 millions in Mongolia, a difference of 197.97 millions.
That makes South Africa's figure about 1.8 times Mongolia's.
Across all 13 years both countries report, South Africa has been ahead every year.
Mongolia ranks 22nd and South Africa ranks 19th of 157 countries.
South Africa has averaged higher in every one of the 3 decades both report.
Head to head by decade
| Decade | Mongolia | South Africa | Difference | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000s | 0 millions | 1,059 millions | 1,059 millions | South Africa |
| 2010s | 0 millions | 2,822 millions | 2,822 millions | South Africa |
| 2020s | 196.41 millions | 504.45 millions | 308.04 millions | South Africa |
Averages of every year both report within each decade.
Frequently asked questions
- Which has higher government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$, Mongolia or South Africa?
- South Africa, at 437.4 millions against 239.43 millions in Mongolia as of 2024.
- What is the difference in government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$ between Mongolia and South Africa?
- 197.97 millions, with South Africa ahead.
- How many years of comparable data are there for Mongolia and South Africa?
- 13 years are reported by both, from 2002 to 2024.
- How do Mongolia and South Africa rank globally for government expenditure on education not specified by level, us$?
- Mongolia ranks 22nd and South Africa ranks 19th of 157 countries.
- Where does this data come from?
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as Government expenditure on education not specified by level, US$ (millions). Statizoid refreshes it automatically from the source and publishes the full history for both places.
Individual pages
About this data
February 2026 Data Release