Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ was 1,168 millions in 2023. ◆ Volatile

Latest (2023)
1,168 millions
Change on year
up 31.2%
World rank
14th
of 149 countries
All-time high
1,168 millions
in 2023
All-time low
54.67 millions
in 2008
Years of data
20
1995–2023

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Dominican Republic, 1995–2023

02505007501.0k1.2k1995200920231995: 74.8 millions1996: 108.4 millions2001: 275.7 millions2002: 249.1 millions2007: 89.2 millions2008: 54.7 millions2010: 110.6 millions2011: 140.1 millions2012: 236.9 millions2013: 325 millions2014: 460.9 millions2015: 423.1 millions2016: 454.5 millions2017: 512 millions2018: 583 millions2019: 668.6 millions2020: 814.3 millions2021: 642 millions2022: 889.9 millions2023: 1.2k millions

Source: UNESCO Institute for Statistics. Measured in millions.

Analysis

The most recent figure for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Dominican Republic is 1,168 millions, measured in 2023. That is the highest value across all 20 years on record.

That represents a change of up 31.2% on the previous year and up 259.3% over ten years.

Over the whole period, government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Dominican Republic peaked at 1,168 millions in 2023 and was at its lowest, 54.67 millions, in 2008.

Dominican Republic ranks 14th of 149 countries on this measure, in the top 10%.

The series is highly variable year to year, so single readings are best treated with caution.

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Dominican Republic, year by year

Annual values for Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions) in Dominican Republic, 1995 to 2023.
Year millions Change
1995 74.78 millions
1996 108.42 millions +45.0%
2001 275.7 millions +154.3%
2002 249.12 millions -9.6%
2007 89.15 millions -64.2%
2008 54.67 millions -38.7%
2010 110.62 millions +102.3%
2011 140.06 millions +26.6%
2012 236.93 millions +69.2%
2013 325.04 millions +37.2%
2014 460.9 millions +41.8%
2015 423.08 millions -8.2%
2016 454.53 millions +7.4%
2017 511.97 millions +12.6%
2018 583.03 millions +13.9%
2019 668.6 millions +14.7%
2020 814.29 millions +21.8%
2021 642.03 millions -21.2%
2022 889.9 millions +38.6%
2023 1,168 millions +31.2%

Averages by decade

DecadeAverage LowestHighest Years
1990s 91.6 millions 74.78 millions 108.42 millions 2
2000s 167.16 millions 54.67 millions 275.7 millions 4
2010s 391.48 millions 110.62 millions 668.6 millions 10
2020s 878.5 millions 642.03 millions 1,168 millions 4

Countries ranked near Dominican Republic

  1. 11 Hungary 1,651 millions compare
  2. 12 Macao 1,561 millions compare
  3. 13 Panama 1,208 millions compare
  4. 15 South Africa 1,104 millions compare
  5. 16 Ghana 1,072 millions compare
  6. 17 Democratic Republic of Congo 1,043 millions compare

See the full ranking of 149 places →

More education data for Dominican Republic

All data for Dominican Republic →

Frequently asked questions

What is government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Dominican Republic?
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Dominican Republic was 1,168 millions in 2023, according to UNESCO Institute for Statistics.
What is the highest government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ recorded in Dominican Republic?
The highest recorded value was 1,168 millions in 2023.
What is the lowest government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ recorded in Dominican Republic?
The lowest recorded value was 54.67 millions in 2008.
How does Dominican Republic rank for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
Dominican Republic ranks 14th out of 149 countries with data for 2023.
Is government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ rising or falling in Dominican Republic?
Over the last ten years it is up 259.3%. The long-run trend across the full record is volatile.
Where does this Dominican Republic data come from?
The figures come from UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as part of Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid updates them automatically from the source API.

Download this data

CSV · JSON — 20 observations, free to reuse under CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics).

Share, cite or embed this page

Cite this page

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Dominican Republic. Statizoid, drawing on UNESCO Institute for Statistics. Retrieved 02 September 2026, from https://education.statizoid.com/stat/government-expenditure-on-education-not-specified-by-level-ppp-millions-2/dominican-republic/

Embed or link this data

Paste this into a page to link back to these figures. The data itself is free to reuse under CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics); please keep the attribution.

<a href="https://education.statizoid.com/stat/government-expenditure-on-education-not-specified-by-level-ppp-millions-2/dominican-republic/">Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Dominican Republic</a> — Statizoid

About this data

Indicator
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions)
Unit
millions
Source
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Licence
CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics)
Coverage
149 places, 2,398 data points, 1971–2025
Last refreshed

February 2026 Data Release