Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Turkmenistan

Turkmenistan: Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ was 494.74 millions in 2024. ◆ Volatile

Latest (2024)
494.74 millions
Change on year
up 1,940.7%
World rank
25th
of 149 countries
All-time high
3,506 millions
in 2020
All-time low
0 millions
in 2012
Years of data
7
2012–2024

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Turkmenistan, 2012–2024

01.0k2.0k3.0k4.0k2012201820242012: 0 millions2019: 223.6 millions2020: 3.5k millions2021: 345.9 millions2022: 354.8 millions2023: 24.2 millions2024: 494.7 millions

Source: UNESCO Institute for Statistics. Measured in millions.

Analysis

In 2024, government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Turkmenistan stood at 494.74 millions.

Compared with earlier readings it is up 1,940.7% on the previous year and up 121.2% over five years.

Over the whole period, government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Turkmenistan peaked at 3,506 millions in 2020 and was at its lowest, 0 millions, in 2012.

Turkmenistan ranks 25th of 149 countries on this measure, in the top quarter.

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Turkmenistan, year by year

Annual values for Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions) in Turkmenistan, 2012 to 2024.
Year millions Change
2012 0 millions
2019 223.64 millions
2020 3,506 millions +1467.8%
2021 345.94 millions -90.1%
2022 354.82 millions +2.6%
2023 24.24 millions -93.2%
2024 494.74 millions +1940.7%

Averages by decade

DecadeAverage LowestHighest Years
2010s 111.82 millions 0 millions 223.64 millions 2
2020s 945.17 millions 24.24 millions 3,506 millions 5

Countries ranked near Turkmenistan

  1. 22 Mongolia 683.34 millions compare
  2. 23 Norway 586.13 millions compare
  3. 24 Guatemala 508.89 millions compare
  4. 26 Kyrgyzstan 469.92 millions compare
  5. 27 Belarus 430.57 millions compare
  6. 28 Tajikistan 350.86 millions

See the full ranking of 149 places →

More education data for Turkmenistan

All data for Turkmenistan →

Frequently asked questions

What is government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Turkmenistan?
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ in Turkmenistan was 494.74 millions in 2024, according to UNESCO Institute for Statistics.
What is the highest government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ recorded in Turkmenistan?
The highest recorded value was 3,506 millions in 2020.
What is the lowest government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$ recorded in Turkmenistan?
The lowest recorded value was 0 millions in 2012.
How does Turkmenistan rank for government expenditure on education not specified by level, ppp$?
Turkmenistan ranks 25th out of 149 countries with data for 2024.
Where does this Turkmenistan data come from?
The figures come from UNESCO Institute for Statistics, published as part of Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions). Statizoid updates them automatically from the source API.

Download this data

CSV · JSON — 7 observations, free to reuse under CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics).

Share, cite or embed this page

Cite this page

Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Turkmenistan. Statizoid, drawing on UNESCO Institute for Statistics. Retrieved 01 September 2026, from https://education.statizoid.com/stat/government-expenditure-on-education-not-specified-by-level-ppp-millions-2/turkmenistan/

Embed or link this data

Paste this into a page to link back to these figures. The data itself is free to reuse under CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics); please keep the attribution.

<a href="https://education.statizoid.com/stat/government-expenditure-on-education-not-specified-by-level-ppp-millions-2/turkmenistan/">Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ in Turkmenistan</a> — Statizoid

About this data

Indicator
Government expenditure on education not specified by level, PPP$ (millions)
Unit
millions
Source
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Licence
CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO (UNESCO Institute for Statistics)
Coverage
149 places, 2,398 data points, 1971–2025
Last refreshed

February 2026 Data Release